Sort by

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 87 Next
Oceania consists of a huge amount of islands, lying mostly in Pacific Ocean; it includes from 20 000 to 30 000 islands of Micronesia, Polynesia and Melanesia. The divides between the subregions of Australia and Oceania is quite nominal, so the list of components may have variations, depending on economical, geopolitical, physiographical, ecogeographical sense. The most recognizable countries of Australia and Oceania are Australia itself, New Zealand, Hawaii, Papua New Guinea, Fiji and Easter Island. Most of them once was or currently are colonies.
The whole Oceania region has total population of only 19 million people living on the distant Pacific islands. But for collectors the region becomes more and more interesting, because of its growing commemoratives producing. Niue, Fiji, Cook Islands, Palau, Tokelau, Tuvalu, Solomon Islands and others at present times are known by their spectacular series of collectable coins. Special precious coins of Oceania are usually finely designed and struck in a perfect proof quality. Features of Oceania coins may include various embellishments and coinage techniques. There are subjects suitable for any collection among the numerous thematic coin series.
The smallest of planet’s inhabited continents, Australia, belonging to the region, produces the outstanding commemorative coins too. The Mint of Perth strikes the majority of valuable coins of Australia and Oceania in limited editions. Great assortment of valuable Australia and Oceania coins are always available online at Amazing coins of variant thematic series can be ordered for one’s own collection or purchased for a gift.